Review: Banila Co. Clean It Zero Classic Cleansing Balm

Banila Co. Clean It Zero Cleansing Balm-3
I love cleansing balms for their convenience and efficacy. But this one won’t make it into my standard routine. Here’s why.

The Banila Co. Clean It Zero Classic is a “lightweight sorbet-like textured make up removing cleansing balm that whisks away pore-clogging impurities.” It can be used as either one-step cleansing product to both remove make up and cleanse skin, or as first-step cleansing product when double cleansing.

The product

The Banila Co. Clean It Zero cleansers are probably some of the best known Korean skin care products around the world having achieved cult status not only in South Korea, but abroad as well.

I purchased the cleansing balm directly at a Banila Co. store in Seoul for KRW18 000. It was inexpensive and also lasts quite a while.

Ingredients:

Mineral Oil, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate, PEG-20 Glyceryl Triisostearate, PEG -10Isostearate, Polyethylene, Butylene Glycol, Water, Rubus Suavissimus (Raspberry) Leaf Extract, Bambusa Arundinacea Stem Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Viscum Album, (Mistletoe) Leaf Extract, Angelica Polymorpha Sinensis Root Extract, Carica Papaya, (Papaya) Fruit Extract, Malpighia Glabra (Acerola) Fruit Extract, Epilobium, Angustifolium Leaf Extract, BHT, Butylparaben, CI 16255, CI 15985, Fragrance.

First impression

The Banila Co. Clean It Zero feels considerably different to other cleansing balms I have tried so far. It is much softer and feels a bit like cake icing. Once applied, however, the balm will behave just like any other. Which means that once it hits the skin, the light pink sherbet quickly melts down into a lightweight, thin oil that is easy to spread and massage in.

The product comes with a spatula to scoop the balm out. But in the end I preferred to just use the tip of my little finger because I’m lazy and lost the spatula.

The balm has a notable smell, although the fragrance itself is subtle and not overpowering. Personally, I like the fragrance. But I would have also liked the balm without it. What’s more, fragrances tend to make products more irritating to the skin. However, this is not to say I experienced any irritation with this product.

Banila Co. Clean It Zero Classic Cleansing Balm
The Banila Co. Clean It Zero Classic Cleansing Balm.

Performance

Like cleansing balms in general, this, too, is easy and very fuss-free to use. It doesn’t run or drip, and can be worked into the skin with ease and convenience. It reliably dissolves waterproof brow mascara, sunscreen and lipstick, although unfortunately I cannot speak on any more stubborn matters because I hardly wear anything else make up-wise.

What I don’t like about it is how badly it seems to rinse off. This does not make it the best cleanser for skin prone to clogged pores. If not rinsed off with water thoroughly and often enough it leaves a little bit of a film, which might work for dry skin types but could also result in residual dirt. This product therefore does not qualify as one-step cleanser for me personally as I find it clogs my pores unless I follow up with a second foam cleanser. So at the most, this is good for double-cleansing. But alone? I’d rather not!

As a redeeming feature I do find it to soften my skin. But like with other cleansing balms this only noticeably happens if massaged into the skin for long enough. This is why you will find me massaging in cleansing balm in the bathroom for at least one minute every evening. The longer I do it, the better cleansing balms usually work in this regard.

Conclusion

I mainly bought this product just to try and to see whether the hype around it was in any way justified. I personally came to the conclusion it is not, although it’s not a bad product exactly. It doesn’t rinse off all that well, so for those prone to clogging, either skip this one or remember to do a proper double-cleansing.

Have you tried this cleansing balm, and if so, how did you like it?

2 thoughts on “Review: Banila Co. Clean It Zero Classic Cleansing Balm”

  1. I have one two and I agree with you. I feel like it isn’t as great as everyone hypes it up as. However it’s helps dissolve my eyeliner well so that’s one thing I like about it😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

