All Lush product reviews masterpost

Reviews of all Lush products I’ve used, in alphabetical order. This post will be continually updated with new products and any additions to old reviews. Samples included.

Face: I have normal skin with few outbreaks, but a few flaky areas. My ideal skin care routine is centered around mild, non-comedogenic, irritant-free products!

Body: dry to very dry throughout the year, but extremely dry during winter. Without the right care, my hands are extremely dry and sensitive all year ’round, though, and my heels tend to crack.

Contents

Angels on Bare Skin face and body cleanser

BIG shampoo

Buffy body butter

Charity Pot hand and body lotion

Dragon’s Egg bath bomb

Elbow Grease body moisturizing bar

Figs and Leaves solid soap

Floating Island bath melt

Fun solid shampoo, bubble, soap and play dough bars

Intergalactic bath bomb

Love Lettuce fresh face mask (sample!)

Ocean Salt Self-preserving face and body scrub

Parsley Porridge solid soap

The Olive Branch shower gel

The Rough With The Smooth solid scrub

Rub Rub Rub shower scrub (sample!)

Silky Underwear dusting powder

Sultana of Soap solid soap

Sunrise solid soap

Twilight bath bomb

Angels on Bare Skin face and body cleanser

Fresh, solid, 100 % natural, clay-based exfoliating daily cleanser for face and body. Ground almonds gently buff and tone the skin, kaolin absorbs grease, glycerine humidifies, while lavender, rose and chamomile oil supposedly calm the skin. Smells mostly of kaolin and natural lavender, but more herbal once applied.

Scoop out a smidgen to hazelnut-sized amount of AoBS with finger and dissolve with water in the palm of hand until you get a paste. Apply to face or body, gently massage into skin with both hands using circular up- and outwards motions, rinse off with clear, lukewarm water, and pat dry.

I use AoBS only for my face, but find the application messy and impractical. It’s difficult to achieve a paste with just the right viscosity. Thus, the cleanser ends up either too runny or still too dry to apply. Other than that, I like the gentle scrubbing sensation of the cleanser, although I am cautious of mechanical exfoliation. However, while I don’t find the cleanser aggravates my skin or causes any negative reaction, I don’t find it to have any benefits for my now normal, blemish-free skin either – other than softening it right after cleansing. Then again, I have had no issues that needed improving to begin with, so I guess doing nothing much besides cleansing my skin is the best possible outcome it could have had. Still, I’m not sure I’ll re-purchase because I am not completely comfortable with so many essential oils and fragrances in a skin care product for the face. I will, however, use up the 100 gr tub currently in my possession anyway.

Since only a little is enough, AoBS will last a long time. And although it is a “fresh cleanser,” it has a recommended shelf-life of more than a year. So if you find AoBS to be beneficial to your skin, you will get your money’s worth.

Ingredients: Ground Almonds, Glycerine Kaolin, Water (Aqua), Lavender Oil, Rose Absolute, Chamomile Blue Oil, Tagetes Oil, Benzoin, Resinoid, Lavender Flowers, Limonene, Linalool.

BIG shampoo

Voluminizing shampoo with coarse sea salt, lemon, lime, seaweed and coconut oil. Smells indescribably fresh, delicious, and subtly sweet of lime-y vanilla and lemon-y coconut!

To use, scoop out a little amount from the tub, massage into scalp but leave out lengths, then rinse. Note that the shampoo might take two tries to lather up in some hair. But once the foam has built up, the soapy suds will take care of the lengths when rinsed.

BIG tends to lather up rather well, even if, like me, you need to try two times. I’ve no idea why that is, by the way, but made the same experience with the Rub Rub Rub sea salt body peeling as shampoo, too. Because the shampoo does not contain silicones, hair gets tangled under the shower. I personally don’t follow up with conditioner, but once brushed, then dry, my normal to dry, straight, medium-fine Asian hair will feel soft, smooth and look glossy anyway. A leave-in treatment for my especially dry, bleached ends is a must with any shampoo, though, which undoubtedly contributes to the shine and softness. M, for instance, uses BIG without conditioner as well, and his oily, medium-fine Caucasian hair will look more matted and feel dry – but which as an oily skin type he explicitly wants.

M uses BIG without needing to lather up twice, and for him BIG lasts one and a half to two months with daily use.

Ingredients: Coarse Sea Salt, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Fresh Organic Lemon Infusion, Fresh Sea Water, Toothed Wrack Seaweed Infusion, Lauryl Betaine, Fresh Organic Lime Juice, Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Neroli Oil, Mandarin Oil, Fair Trade Vanilla Absolute, Orange Flower Absolute, Limonene, Alpha Isomethyl, Ionone, Perfume.

Buffy body butter

Skin conditioning, softening and mechanically exfoliating 2-in-1 in-shower body butter scrub bar with cocoa and shea butter, ground almonds, rice and adzuki beans. Smells mostly of shea butter and almonds, or like a yummy, nutty cream.

Use under the shower as the last step to moisturize and buff away dead skin cells and flaky skin by gliding over wet skin with the bar. I recommend lowering the water pressure or keep away from running water while doing so, otherwise the bar will melt away faster. Then, rinse away ground rice, almonds and adzuki beans from skin, and manually massage in cocoa and shea butter. Pat dry when done.

Body parts I like to focus on with Buffy are my elbows, tummy, legs and feet. On my hands, I use the residue left behind from handling the body butter by simply rubbing them together as if I was a villain with a good, but evil plan. After the shower, a light film of oil will remain on the skin, and the skin will feel soft, moisturized and conditioned. Personally, I perceive said oil film as very positive, and not at all as sticky or in the slightest bothersome as regular body lotion would feel when I moisturize after a shower. The moisturizing effect of the body butter on my otherwise very dry skin also keeps up well throughout several regular spring days. However, in the winter, I don’t think my skin would be above something extra in addition.

Unfortunately, I find the butter to use up quickly. Ways to prevent this is to keep away from warm/hot running water, sunlight or heat in general, and to store in a dry, cool place, possibly even the fridge, when not in use. But considering the price and the speed at which it will likely melt away anyway, and also because it can be abrasive on the skin, I would not recommend using Buffy every day. Still, among all Lush products I’ve tried so far, Buffy is definitely and decidedly among my top favorites!

Ingredients: Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter, Fair Trade Shea Butter, Ground Rice, Ground Almonds, Organic Ground Adzuki Beans, Perfume Lavender Oil, Lemon Oil, Citral, Limonene, Linalool.

Charity Pot hand and body lotion

Rich, buttery lotion for hand and body. Smells mostly sweet of vanilla, but the heavy, custard-y type. The texture is also similar to rich custard cream.

Scoop out appropriate amount and massage into skin.

I’ll say right off the bat that I don’t particularly like this lotion. I used to judge hand creams by their ability to retain moisture in my skin even after I’ve washed my hands once. But since I’ve started using Lush soaps, I don’t need a hand cream to have this specific feature any longer. Now, I mostly want a hand cream that sinks in fast, yet delivers heavy duty hydration and moisture at the same time. (I wonder if that’s too much to ask for?) While Charity Pot is rich, soothing and moisturizing, it takes the typical amount of time to fully absorb for this type of cream. My skin will feel sticky and greasy for several, never ending minutes, while I personally also find the scent of Charity Pot overly sweet and heavy. I have not used this on the body yet, but I can’t imagine it to leave me happier as body lotion either.

One thing I found, however, is that the lotion lasts a while. I’d received a teeny tiny tin tub of Charity Pot once, and even after several uses as a hand cream have not even hit the bottom yet. So if it’s value for money you are seeking, do try Charity Pot.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Fair Trade Olive Oil, Glycerine, Organic Jojoba Oil, Moringa Oil, Fair Trade Colombian Cocoa Butter, Stearic Acid, Fair Trade Shea Butter, Triethanolamine, Geranium Oil, Rosewood Oil, Ylang Ylang Oil, Fair Trade Vanilla Absolute, Fresh Aloe Gel, Cetearyl Alcohol, Citronellol, Coumarin, Geraniol, Linalool, Limonene Perfume.

Dragon’s Egg bath bomb

Uplifting, citrus scented bath bomb great for a pick me up. Smells light and fresh.

I always add a Lush sample pot sized amount of pure virgin coconut oil to the bath water so my skin gets moisturized and stays protected from drying out while I soak. The coconut scent will be subtle enough to not overpower any of those from other bath additives. However, this is also why I won’t be able to comment on the moisturizing or skin softening abilities of just the bomb.

Dragon’s Egg fizzles in white, slowly dissolving into flat, soft foam, and colored rice paper dots. Immediately, the room fills with a citrus-y smell both calming and invigorating. Although I’m not normally into fruit aromas, this bomb’s fragrance I like because it’s really fresh and uplifting! The bath bomb takes a while until it fizzles out, but before it does so, it releases orange color from its core, then crackles before it dissolves completely, eventually leaving the bath water orange and dispersed with fine glitter. I don’t mind the glitter and it also did not stuck on my body afterwards. What stuck, however, was the scent! I took a dip in the pool later that day and my skin retained its wonderful smell throughout.

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Perfume, Popping Candy, Lemon Oil, Bergamot Oil, Jasmine Absolute, Cream of Tartar, Water (Aqua), Gardenia Extract, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Propylene Glycol, Lauryl Betaine, Citral, Limonene, Linalool, Gold Lustre, Radiant Gold Lustre, Colour 15510, Colour 17200, Colour 14700, Colour 45410, Rice Paper.

Elbow Grease body moisturizing bar

Rich moisturizing bar for body, hands, feet, and tattoos, made from a blend of Cupuacu, Murumuru and Illipé butter, and coconut oil. Smells nutty and waxy at first, but then sweet and of subtly heavy floral.

Use wherever needed by gently gliding bar over dry, flaky skin once. The ingredients of the bar will melt beautifully upon contact with skin without leaving a mess. Massage into skin, and leave the butters, oils and wax to absorb. Keep the bar wrapped in its wax paper packaging so as to keep it from melting between hands and fingers, and tear away paper only as required.

Body parts I like to use Elbow Grease on are the backs of my hands, my heels, and sometimes shins. And this is maybe my personal preference alone, but I always favor cosmetics in bar or stick form over liquids or creams. This allows me to keep my fingers and the palms of my hands grease-free and clean, and thus to move on faster with my day. Hence, I love moisturizing with Elbow Grease and clearly prefer its application to that of regular lotion. The oily film it leaves will take time to absorb completely. However, it does not leave a sticky kind of feeling, which again I appreciate, but which at times can be bothersome anyway. Still, for me Elbow Grease is the better alternative to lotions as well as the Lush massage bars as body lotions. First, because it’s less messy thanks to its bar form and wax paper packaging, second, because I think it yields more uses than a massage bar.

Elbow Grease keeps its form and texture well at room temperature even with the heater on, and a little goes a long way. I expect the bar to last me at least one or two months.

Ingredients: Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Cupuacu Butter, Murumuru Butter, Organic Illipe Butter, Candelilla Wax, Soya Oil, Neroli Oil, Orange Flower Absolute, Rosewood Oil, Sandalwood Oil, Ylang Ylang Oil, Beeswax Absolute, Benzyl Benzoate, Citral, Farnesol, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Limonene, Linalool, Perfume.

Figs and Leaves solid soap

Solid soap bar with fig seeds for exfoliation and aloe vera for soothing skin. Smells sweetly and creamy.

Use for hands and/or body. Store dry, or in a soap dish away from water to avoid soap scum typical for solid soap bars. Soap trays with a texture that allows air circulation underneath the soap bar work best!

I use Figs and Leaves on my hands in the bathroom, and I use it frequently. But in contrast to basically any other soaps from other brands I have ever used so far, Figs and Leaves is cleansing yet gentle on my hands. While they won’t come out moisturized after washing, I also don’t experience any of the intense dryness, cracking or tightness I’ve always had major issues with before. Even after repeated use without moisturizing in between, my hands feel normal and without any stress. Dry flakes, cracks or hardened skin around the finger nails now are also a thing of the past. All in all, my hands are a thousand times better off since I made the switch to Lush soaps, and whenever I am forced to use something else my hands feel the difference right away and hate it.

Figs and Leaves lathers up in a milky froth, and exfoliates with fig seeds which can be a little scratchy occasionally. Also, the leaves the bar is wrapped in will come off in pieces when the soap is used but will rinse down the drain without any problems. At the time of writing, I have been using Figs and Leaves multiple times daily for about three weeks, and I’d say it’s shrunk about a half in size leaving me still a lot of soap to last me at least a month.

Update: Not too great under the shower I find.

Ingredients: Rapeseed Oil and Coconut Oil, Water (Aqua), Glycerine, Fig Decoction, Fair Trade Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Perfume, Ylang Ylang Oil, Orange Flower Absolute, Aloe Vera Extract, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, EDTA, Tetrasodium, Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Benzyl Benzoate, Linalool, Lilial.

Floating Island bath melt

Moisturizing bath oil melt in solid form. Smells very sweet with clear notes of vanilla.

I used Floating Island for a Lush bath cocktail along with a Twilight bath bomb and a Milky Bath bubble bar to turn the bath water moisturizing and soothing for the skin.

Floating Island is barely the size of half a peach, and I doubt it’s a very exciting product to add to your bath water all by its own. But for what it’s supposed to do, it does a great job! It moisturized and protected my skin from pruning in the bath water, and the way the water pearled off my skin while I was in the bath made this apparent right away. The smell was decidedly sweet and dominated by vanilla, and I could catch whiffs of it even through the – admittedly very light – scent of the bath bomb I used with it. All in all, I really liked this product, although it stands to question whether it’s worth spending money on. After all, adding pure virgin coconut oil to my bath water works just as well for moisturizing and protecting my skin while taking a bath. So if anything, Floating Island is more of a sweet treat for times you want to really indulge yourself – or have cash to get rid of.

Ingredients: Organic Shea Butter, Sodium Bicarbonate, Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter, PEG-6 Caprylic / Capric Glycerides & PEG-60 Almond Glycerides, Laureth 4, Citric Acid, Perfume, Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Almond Oil, Sandalwood Oil, Lemon Oil, Labdanum Resinoid Fair Trade Vanilla Pod Seeds, Dried Fair Trade Vanilla Pod, Limonene.

Fun solid shampoo, bubble, soap and play dough bars

Practical and fun multi-use soap bars available in various different colors and fragrances made from talc, cornstarch, glycerine, Sodium Laureth Sulfate and essential oils. Can be used for hair, body, bath water, laundry, and play.

To use, I recommend cutting Fun into about 1 cm thick disks, which can be cut up further into even smaller pieces. Use by rubbing onto wet scalp to wash hair; by gliding over wet skin to cleanse under the shower; by crumbling into bath tub under running water to produce bubbles; by throwing half or a quarter disk into the drum of washing machine to scent the laundry; by dissolving in water for hand washing clothes; or by just playing with it like regular play dough. Fun will color water and skin, but once rinsed out and off will leave no stains whatsoever.

I love to use Fun as shampoo, shower soap, sometimes hand soap, and in the laundry. It also works pretty well as air refresher for which I just leave a piece lying around. Because one of its main attractions, in my opinion, really is the scents of each Fun as well as how long the scents will linger whether in the hair or on the skin. Also, I think Fun is perfect for traveling as it’s fit to take in your carry-on and can serve a number of different but all equally helpful uses.

The only thing I have yet to figure out is how to best store my Fun disks. When dry and unused, I keep them in an empty glass container with no problem. Only when they get wet, my Fun disks quickly melt into a gooey mess which can be easily cleaned up, but does diminish the fun and Fun faster nonetheless. In my experience, one 1 cm thick disk of Fun is enough for use on hair and full body twice.

Ingredients: Cornflour, Talc, Glycerine, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, followed by essential oils, perfume and colors.

Intergalactic bath bomb

Refreshing peppermint-scented bath bomb that is invigorating and calming at the same time. Definitely very pepperminty yet sweet and soft.

I always add a Lush sample pot sized amount of pure virgin coconut oil to the bath water so my skin gets moisturized and stays protected from drying out while I soak. The coconut scent will be subtle enough to not overpower any of those from other bath additives. However, this is also why I won’t be able to comment on the moisturizing or skin softening abilities of just the bomb.

Out of the three bath bombs I tried until this point, this is my definite favorite. Intergalactic puts on quite a show quickly dying the bath water shades of beautiful blue, then sputtering out other neon colors, such as pink, green and yellow, and glitter. Then there’s crackling popping candy in the bomb for added auditory effect. All in all, it’s a real treat to watch and experience, and the peppermint scent also spreads through the room immediately and insistently. The fragrance is fresh and invigorating, but nicely softened by an underlying sweetness from the other essential oils contained. Once the bomb and the soft foam it’s left have dissolved completely, the water turns a deep petrol blue with fine gold and silver glitter floating through it. A beautiful and calming spectacle! The scent unfortunately did not linger on my skin for more than a night, but neither did any of the glitter.

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Popping Candy, Perfume, Cream of Tartar, Water (Aqua), Peppermint Oil, Grapefruit Oil, Vetivert Oil, Cedarwood Oil, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Lauryl Betaine, Limonene, Linalool, Snowflake, Lemon Ice and Gold Glimmer Lustre, Colour 42090, Colour 45410.

Love Lettuce fresh face mask (sample!)

Fresh balancing, soothing and softening face mask with ground almonds and almond shells for exfoliation.

Scoop out appropriate amount and slather onto face. Let sit for 10 – 15 minutes, then rinse off with lukewarm water and pat dry. Since this mask has a recommended shelf-life of only about a month, I’d recommend to use generously and store in your refrigerator when not in use.

I applied my sample of Love Lettuce about twenty minutes after my bi-weekly BHA exfoliant mainly to replenish moisture. The pack felt cool on my skin because I’d kept it in the fridge, but it did not feel particularly moisturizing or nourishing. However, when I washed it off, the tightness of the BHA was gone, and the exfoliation Love Lettuce offered paired with a gentle hand felt effective yet not harsh. Still, in the end I can’t tell whether it did anything for my skin, only that it didn’t do any harm to it either. But since I also had no skin issues whatsoever to specifically banish, I guess that’s an acceptable outcome, albeit unimpressive, I admit.

Probably will not purchase, but I want to try other masks.

Ingredients: Agar Agar Gel, Kaolin, Honey, Fullers Earth, Glycerine, Almond Oil, Ground Almond Shells, Ground Almonds, Lavender Oil, Chlorophyllin, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Perfume.

Ocean Salt Self-preserving face and body scrub

Lime and vodka infused fine ocean salt scrub for face and body. Smells like a vodka lime cocktail.

Scoop out suitable amount for face or body, apply, and massage in, using light-handed circular up- and outwards motions.

Honestly, I don’t know what made me buy this. It contains sh*t-tons of citrus and alcohol! I guess the whole concoction just sounded too delicious for me to ignore. But once I’d stepped out of the store and came to again, I realized that I can’t think of one good reason to use this anywhere. I know that not everyone is as loath to using alcohol in their skin and hair care products as me. But combined with the citrus from fresh grapefruits and lime, as well as the possibly abrasive sea salt, I’d rather pass on this one way or the other.

However, even when I did try this on my face and back a few times, it also did practically nothing. So that’s that.

Ingredients: Fine Sea Salt, Hand Harvested Sea Salt, Fresh Grapefruit Infusion, Organic Silken Tofu, Glycerine, Japan Wax, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Fresh Organic Lime Extracted in Vodka, Mango Butter, Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, Avocado Butter, Lime Oil, Seaweed Absolute, Violet Leaf Absolute, Limonene, Linalool, Perfume, Colour 42090.

Parsley Porridge solid soap

Solid soap bar with parsley, thyme, tea tree oil, aloe gel and fine oatmeal for gentle exfoliation. Smells fresh and clean.

Use for hands and/or body. Store dry, or in a soap dish away from water to avoid soap scum typical for solid soap bars. Soap trays with a texture that allows air circulation underneath the soap bar work best!

I use Parsley Porridge on my hands when I am in the kitchen as Lush claims the soap has antibacterial properties. While I cannot confirm whether this is true, I really like this soap as it does not dry my hands out. I can only repeat: my hands are super dry, sensitive and prone to burning and cracking. Any other soaps I’ve used from other brands so far, whether liquid or solid, helped nothing to alleviate these issues. Since using solid Lush soaps, however, my hands are so much better off. While not moisturized after washing, they also don’t hurt, feel tight or crack at all any longer either. The soap furthermore contains fine oatmeal and other, bigger chunks of something I cannot identify. This is supposed to give the soap an additional exfoliant quality, but I can’t really say that this impresses me much, but nor does it bother me, so…

The lather this soap produces is sparse, and has more the texture of milky lotion. Since I spend far less time in the kitchen than in the bathroom, Parsley Porridge has shrunk only slightly after about three weeks, and I think will last for at least a couple months.

Ingredients: Rapeseed Oil and Coconut Oil Tea Tree Infusion, Glycerine, Water (Aqua), Sorbitol, Fresh Parsley, Fine Ground Oatmeal, Thyme Oil, Sandalwood Oil, Grapefruit Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Fresh Aloe Gel, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, EDTA, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Limonene, Linalool, Perfume, Chlorophyllin.

The Olive Branch shower gel

Moisturizing shower gel with olive oil. Smells orange fruit-y, but also curiously cigarette ash-y. I’ve read people describe the scent as reminiscent of nicotine or an empty ash tray while again others perceive it as nothing but refreshing. I’m with the former while M did not comment on that aspect of the fragrance at all.

Shake well before use until the top phase has mixed with the rest of the gel. Then dispense into hand or onto skin and lather up. Careful, because the gel decidedly tips on the runny side and spills easily. When done, rinse.

I use The Olive Branch with a pouf on a stick. Which, written out like this, sounds funny. But it’s super handy as the pouf really gets the shower gel to lather up and the stick means I can clean even my back and the soles of my feet without having to bend over and backwards. Without the pouf, however, the lather of The Olive Branch is not impressive. Which does not take away much from its quality. M and I still enjoy using the gel, and its scent is invigorating and reviving – although it smells cigarette ash-y to me. The main catch of the gel, however, is, it does not dry my skin out. It isn’t moisturizing, no – it’s a shower gel after all. But my otherwise very dry skin is happy all over after showering with The Olive Branch, and does not feel tight afterwards even in the slightest.

I don’t know how generous M is with the gel, but after about a week and a half of daily use on his part, the 500 ml bottle is already half empty. Which makes The Olive Branch an exorbitantly expensive shower gel. I’m therefore looking for another Lush shower gel for him and his no-problem skin while I definitely want to continue to use The Olive Branch for myself. With bi-weekly use and the help of a pouf, I expect one big bottle to last much, much longer.

Ingredients: Vine Leaf Infusion, Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Fresh Mandarin Juice, Fair Trade Olive Oil, Perfume, Propylene Glycol, Bergamot Oil, Lemon Oil, Orange Flower Absolute, Mandarin Oil, Fine Sea Salt, Limonene, Linalool, Hydroxycitronellal, Lilial, Colour 14700, Methylparaben.

The Rough With The Smooth solid scrub

Solid sugar scrub bar with Murumuru butter for the body. Smells sweet and heavy of sensual patchouli and vanilla.

Wet bar with warm water, then gently glide over wet skin, and rinse. If too abrasive, slightly soften bar under more warm water. Keep away from shower stream, however, and store dry to ensure the bar will last longer.

The Rough With The Smooth is definitely one of the most abrasive body scrubs by Lush I have tried so far, but it’s always possible to dissolve some of the bar under running water and use the resulting sugar paste like a liquid shower scrub. Besides, in its solid state the bar is also more prone to crumble into little pieces and wash down the drain. Because the scrub is rather harsh either way, though, I use the bar mainly on my shins and feet. Body parts, in short, that are less sensitive.

With careful use as I’ve described above, I feel like getting at least 6 – 8 uses out of one bar. But although I love its scent, I will not re-purchase. Also, it contains Sodium Bicarbonate, also known as baking soda, which for exfoliation is quite aggressive and not really recommended.

Ingredients: Granulated Sugar, Murumuru Butter, Sodium Bicarbonate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cream of Tartar, Organic Castor Oil, Perfume, Lauryl Betaine, Black Pepper Oil, Patchouli Oil, Fair Trade Vanilla Absolute, Limonene, Linalool, Rosie Red Lustre, Titanium Dioxide, Colour 15850:1.

Rub Rub Rub shower scrub (sample!)

Liquid shower scrub with sea salt. Can be used as shampoo, too! Smells nice and fresh.

Scoop out product and apply to body and/or hair.

I enjoyed my tiny sample of Rub Rub Rub using it as shampoo, on my face and on my hands. I have to say I find the blue color of the product fun and appealing. For a shampoo, Rub Rub Rub performs at least as well as BIG, with which it shares a few ingredients, namely sea salt, lemon, and Sodium Laureth Sulfate. On my face, it made my skin feel soft, but also as if covered with a lubricious film. For my hands, which are extremely dry and really sensitive, the scrub was too abrasive and scratched and burnt my skin.

All in all, I liked Rub Rub Rub, but for the hair I like the smell of BIG much better, for the face I don’t want to use Sodium Laureth Sulfate, and for the body I find little use for it. Bottom-line: I will likely not purchase.

Ingredients: Fine Sea Salt, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Fresh Organic Lemon Juice, Water (Aqua), Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Jasmine Flower Infusion, Mimosa Absolute, Orange Flower Absolute, Jasmine Absolute, Lemon Oil, Lactic Acid, Lauryl Betaine, Limonene, Lilial, Perfume, Colour 42090, Colour 45410.

Silky Underwear dusting powder

Dusting powder for the body interspersed with tiny specs of cocoa butter to soften and smooth skin. Smells slightly of dusty spicy vanilla.

Dispense onto palm of hands and apply where needed. Personally, I’ve decanted my dusting powder into a glass jar and use a big, fluffy face/body brush to apply to the pits of my arms, my back, neck, and sometimes into the roots of my hair.

Further review coming soon.

Ingredients: Cornstarch, Kaolin, Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Butter, Magnesium Carbonate, Perfume Jasmine Absolute, Vetivert Oil, Cinnamyl Alcohol, Benzyl Cinnamate, Linalool.

Sultana of Soap solid soap

Review coming soon.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Rapeseed Oil and Coconut Oil, Glycerine, Sorbitol, Perfume, Dried Apricots, Dried Currants, Dried Cranberries, Olibanum Oil, Bergamot Oil, Titanium Dioxide, Sodium Chloride, EDTA, Tetrasodium Etidronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Limonene, Linalool, Lilial.

Sunrise solid soap

Mood-lifting solid soap bar with skin conditioning properties. Smells just like a jug of fresh orange juice.

Use for hands and/or body. Store dry, or in a soap dish away from water to avoid soap scum typical for solid soap bars. Soap trays with a texture that allows air circulation underneath the soap bar work best!

I picked this one for its uplifting scent, although I’m not usually a fan of fruity fragrances. Once in a while I need an olfactory pick me up, though, and I figured this could be it. In the store, I was sold on its fresh smell, but once I used Sunrise, I was reminded again that I really don’t like fruity stuff. It still left me positively impressed, though! The soap turns my hands soft and is surprisingly moisturizing. I would say it might be even a tad more so than my Figs and Leaves. On the other hand, however, it also seems less powerful and effective at cleansing, and it barely lathers.

Sunrise and its lather have a soft, creamy quality to them what with the slew of essential and skin nourishing oils the soap contains. I can’t assess how long a bar might last yet, but considering the texture, I suspect I could get through 100 gr within a month or two.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycerine, Rapeseed Oil; Coconut Oil, Marigold Petal Infusion, Fragrance, Organic Silken Tofu, Limonene, Sorbitol , Murumuru Butter, Coconut Blossom Nectar, Fragrance , Sicilian Mandarin Oil, Tangerine Oil, Bergamot Oil, Fresh Dove Orchid, Starflower Oil, Sodium Chloride, EDTA, Tetrasodium Editronate, Sodium Hydroxide, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Linalool, Yellow 8, Red 27, Red 33, Red 28.

Twilight bath bomb

Bath bomb designed for relaxation before bed. Smells faintly of floral lavender.

I combined this with the Floating Island melt and Milky Bath Bubble Bar, which turned the water wonderfully moisturizing and very sweet smelling.

Out of the three bath bombs I tried up until that point, Twilight was the most disappointing for several reasons. Fizzling out into light pink tinted, flat, soft foam, then releasing a beautiful blue and silver glitter tailing its trajectory, Twilight eventually turns the bath water a murky purplish gray. “Deep purple” is what Lush itself describes the end result on its website, but I find that just a particularly poetic euphemism for what it really is. It’s not the most uplifting color I’ve ever seen, that’s for sure. The smell, too, could have made this bomb a winner. Unfortunately, I failed to pick it up all that much and it did not linger on my skin afterwards either. The sweet vanilla fragrance of the Floating Island melt I had added to the bath water was clearly noticeable over Twilight. I was hoping for the bomb to deeply relax and soothe my mind. All combined, however, it did neither. Would likely not re-purchase.

Ingredients: Sodium Bicarbonate, Citric Acid, Cream of Tartar, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Lavender Oil, Benzoin Resinoid, Tonka Absolute, Ylang Ylang Oil, Lauryl Betaine, Coumarin, Linalool, Perfume, Colour 42090, Colour 14700, Colour 17200, Colour 45410, Lustre Silver.

! All lists of ingredients in this post taken from https://uk.lush.com/.

Leave a Reply

