Easy, simple moisture boost!!!

When evian was the first to sell mineral water as fancy Mineral Water Spray, it seemed like one of the most uppity and unnecessary ideas ever. Water? In a spray bottle? For 3 € per 50 ml!? With the usual skepticism of a German towards anything newish I righteously scoffed at what I perceived as a scam.

Turns out, it’s actually a great thing to have.

The thing that changed my mind about it comes courtesy of a random Korean TV show I watched. One of the female guests explained that she spritzed on toner in between each skin care step (Korean).

Starting from 0:56.

Somehow, the idea had me intrigued.

Did you know that when the skin is still damp, it’s more receptive of moisturizer? The moisturizer then acts like a seal, locking in additional moisture from the water into the deeper layers of the skin. To spritz on a facial mist before each skin care step therefore made sense to me. This way, the skin stays receptive step after step, and the additional benefits from the toner, instead of evaporating into thin air, will actually penetrate into the skin alongside the skin care applied on top of it!

To clarify, toners can serve two different purposes, depending on the product. For this trick, you’ll want one that has skin care properties, such as nourishing, moisturizing, soothing, etc.

Avène Thermal Spring Water Spray
Avène Thermal Spring Water Spray 50ml bottle

Back then, I happened to have a Thermal Spring Water mist bottle by Avène lying around, the mildest form of toner you could think of: pure mineral water! So I decided to test said method using it.

As to the rest of the skin care products I used during the test, I deliberately kept it simple. I fell back on tried and tested, basic staples of mine, pat, pat, patting them on a few seconds after each spritz: the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate in the evenings, and the Skin Food Tomato Whitening Emulsion both mornings and evenings.

The result: By sandwiching spritzes of “water with benefits” in between, there’s a remarkable difference in the feeling of my skin and appearance of my complexion. My skin is remarkably more supple, and it looks radiant and refreshed! The water adds a boost of moisture that has me forgo a heavier moisturizer than the emulsion completely. By day, when I use sunscreen, I forgo moisturizer altogether, yet my skin never feels dry!

This is a trick anyone can try and adjust according to their skin type. You can start out with a water mist, like me. Or you can start right off with a toner with additional moisturizing properties, or whatever benefits you need, such as the Innisfree Olive Real Oil Mist for instance. You can even refill a spray bottle with simple drinking mineral water.

Granted, people with dry to very dry skin will probably not be able to pass on a more nourishing moisturizer completely with this hack. But even then, the boost of moisture should be felt and seen clearly!

2 thoughts on “Easy, simple moisture boost!!!”

Leave a Reply

